Bhutto: a (yet) more detached view

In John McNaughten’s blog, Memex 1.1 http://memex.naughtons.org/, an interesting excerpt from a piece by David Warren on Canada.com about Benazir Bhutto.

My abiding memory of Benazir (I too was an exact contemporary at Oxford) was our first meeting: she was wearing pink hotpants and stretched out on the floor of a close friend of mine, eating Turkish Delight. McNaughten’s summary, “attractive, rich and petulant” is accurate to a point; Benazir was also great fun. It was that girl I remembered when I heard the news of her death, not what she became.

Author: wilks

I called myself Wilks when I first started blogging. The idea was that it would afford a measure of anonymity. For much the same reason, there was no photo. Times change, hence the photo, but I decided that even when I changed the blog’s title at the start of 2009, I should remain Wilks.

Leave a Reply

