Truss loses support

If New Labour is finding the re-emergence of its Union paymasters uncomfortable to live with, David Cameron’s Tory-lite party has problems of its own past. The report in this morning’s Sunday Telegraph of the goings-on (possibly, given the story, the wrong expression) in Norfolk takes us back to the wonderful alternative world of Tory backwoodsmen and Sir Tufton Bufton (although in this case Sir Jeremy Bagge).

This, if Melissa Kite who interviewed him for the Telegraph heard him correctly, is his take on the role of women in the modern world:

Sorry, no, I have never said I’m anti-women. I have got absolutely nothing against women.

Who cooks my lunch? Who cooks my dinner? How did my wonderful three children appear? Women, you can’t do without them. My god, take my wife.

What does she do for a living?

What does she do? She looks after me. Looks after the children. Runs the house.

Well, thank goodness we’ve got that straight: keep her in the house and not the House.

Apparently Sir Jeremy is to speak tomorrow at an emergency meeting of the Swaffham Conservative Club, supporting a motion to remove Elizabeth Truss as the candidate for true blue South West Norfolk. In his own words, “I might make a complete bloody idiot of myself but I will have done my bit and not done a u-turn.”

I have news for you, Sir Jeremy, you have already succeeded with the first bit. NFN springs to mind.

Author: wilks

I called myself Wilks when I first started blogging. The idea was that it would afford a measure of anonymity. For much the same reason, there was no photo. Times change, hence the photo, but I decided that even when I changed the blog’s title at the start of 2009, I should remain Wilks.